• Amy Middleton

Yard Life – a celebration of graffiti and street art

SWG3, Scotland’s leading multi-disciplinary arts venue has announced the launch of its new urban arts gallery Yard Life. Opening to the public on Thursday 27th May, the gallery marks the first exciting step in bold plans for a new street arts district and will exhibit the latest works in street art and graffiti from Glasgow and beyond.


Proudly occupying one of SWG3’s archways on Eastvale Place, the first exhibition will showcase new works by a group of emerging and established artists such as sign-makers, illustrators, cartoonists, and sculptors.



Andrew Fleming-Brown, MD of SWG3 said: “We’re delighted to be launching this new space with a genre that is truly ingrained and part of the walls at SWG3. Our ambition is to create a new Street Arts District and Yard Life Gallery is the first exciting step in these plans. We look forward to welcoming everybody down to experience the incredible variety and talent from the urban arts community.”


The Yard Life gallery forms part of a broader plan for a bold new street art and graffiti district sprawling across Govan, Yorkhill and Partick based around an innovative studio for emergent graffiti and street artists in the Galvanizers Yard with construction beginning in December 2021. The Yard Works studio will offer a purpose-built home for street art, providing space for hundreds of artists to create in, as well as using the art form to support social change through Yardworks’ extensive community work. Significantly, the Yard Works Studio will act as a catalyst for transforming GRID (Glasgow Riverside Innovation District) into a striking graffiti and street arts district. Linking the disconnected communities of Partick, Yorkhill and Govan, the project will see gable ends illuminated with new, large-scale murals, creating an open-air gallery trail, and attracting visitors to the area. In addition to supporting creative industry career paths and nurturing skills in those furthest removed from the job market, the project will provide leadership for communities to revitalise their neighbourhoods through street art.

Gary Mackay, studio director of SWG3 and co-founder of Yardworks Festival said: Yard Life Gallery has risen from the success of Yardworks Festival and the talented artists that adorn its walls. From grassroots to the more established house-hold names that we see on our day-to-day travels around the city, Yard Life & Yardworks will interact with groups and individuals to realise their creative ambitions. The gallery will allow us to work alongside our artists on a day-to-day basis, pushing the boundaries and breaking the barriers that are commonplace for this exciting artform.”


Artists featured in the Yard Life gallery include Molly Hankinson, a GSA graduate whose work is an honest and unapologetic representation of people who experience misogyny, and an inclusive celebration of feminine vitality; Charlie Anderson, a Glasgow-based painter and designer who has worked with Ringo Starr, Urban Outfitters, and Gordon Ramsey amongst others, and whose work has been exhibited internationally; and Ursula Kam-Ling Cheng, a Northern-Irish illustrator and visual live drawing media artist, who takes broad influence from folkloric history, ancient relics, and Asian comics that present a conversation on the hyper-real future, social ideals, and expectations of the female individual.



Yard Life opens its doors Thursday 27th May from 12pm-6pm. Full list of artist exhibits with social links below.


Molly Hankinson @mollyhankinson.studio James Klinge @jamesklinge_art Smug @smugone Priestcorp @priestcorp Box Vincent @boxvincent Ciáran Glöbel @ciaranglobel Ursula Kam-Ling Cheng @ursula_kam_ling Charlie Anderson @charlieandersonart Pizza Boy @pizza_boy_uk Louise McVey @louisemcveyartist Siguel @elsiguel Tragic O'Hara @mrtragicohara Mark Worst @markworst Conzo Throb @conzothrob EROS @eros.dba TAIO @bosscitytaio AKME KMG @kmgyeah VUES @vues1 THE GUZLER @theguzler TOCS Ventone @jayventone Frodrik @frodrik_ Barry the cat @barrythecat73 Ellie Mills @ellietype Ross MacRae @ross.macrae.art CreatedByImrie @createdbyimrie Spaceboy @williamspaceboy Artisan Artworks @artisanartworks The Notorious Gasoline Company @thenotoriousgasolinecompany Lightbody107 @lightbody107 Cocozzaesthetic @cocozzaesthetic Jennie Bates @jenniebates Scent @ohayemate Panda @ohpandah Mack Colours @mackcolours Negative Destination @negativedestination Spenny Be Nice @be.nice.signs